Why I decided to blog.

I guess since I have some people following me, I should introduce myself and explain why I decided to blog in the first place!

I’m a 23 year old girl who tries to do it all, and tries to do it as perfectly as I possibly can. I  started this blog in the first place as a “fashion” blog, as per the advice of a friend. I would post outfits I wear, favorite accessories, things I see in stores that I like, that kind of thing.

As I kept blogging, I seemed to kind of mix that in with my weight loss journey that I am currently embarking on. It is just a mix of everything it could possibly be, with what I am thinking will be am emphasis on weight watchers and fashion. The fashion part will play a heavier role once I reach a weight I am more comfortable at, since the fashion aspect is one of my main inspirations for wanting to lose weight in the first place, as weird as that may sound.

I took a little advice from Karl Lagerfeld there.

Image

For quite a good bit of time, probably a year or two, I wouldn’t wear jeans. I had very limited options when it came to what I wore because I felt uncomfortable in everything I wore. I settled for long or capri length yoga pants, with a white tank top, a tshirt, and a sweatshirt. If it was warm, I would find things I was comfortable in. In May of 2012, I moved home from college and realized I really did not want to feel like that anymore, or present myself that way. It took me a few months to get myself together, but I made the decision to start then.

After I decided to make this change, I got a coupon for the Ralph Lauren outlet in the mail, and I was really bummed out that I couldn’t go shopping there anymore. My whole wardrobe used to consist of dark blue jeans, oxford Ralph Lauren shirts, and polos. I looked and felt great.  I dedicated myself to my “weight loss” project then and there, so that I could shop there again, as conceited and as selfish of a reason as that may be. But those long black yoga pants (not yoga leggings, i wear those all the time now) represented me being defeated by what I had become. I was unable to allow myself to look nice, or dress up, because I didn’t feel like I was worthy of it because of my weight. That RL coupon was my reason and motivation to be who I wanted to be, and who I knew I could be. I wasn’t going to be defeated anymore.

Once I lost a little bit of weight, I started to shape up my wardrobe, which also drastically affected how I started to see myself. That is exactly what needed to happen in order for me to realize my worth. That I didn’t have to settle for the clothes I only kind of liked, or clothes that weren’t my style, or even when I did try to dress how I wanted, it was unbelievably expensive. I was WORTHY of losing the weight and being back at that place where I felt the most comfortable with myself. Now I try to make it a point to look my best, even if I’m in workout clothes.

It wasn’t until I started loving and accepting who I was as I was that I started really losing weight. Now here I am, 3 pant sizes smaller ready for anything. I also don’t plan on stopping.

I have changed so much in the past year/year and a half. I am passionate about things again, I am driven, I am realizing what I want out of life, and I am happy. I am doing things I truly enjoy and that leaves little room for me to even worry about the little things in life ( even though sometimes I still do 😛 ).

Image

This was who I was before, and this is a documentation of who I am becoming. Something I write could inspire someone to change their own life somehow, and if I could help one person, I would consider myself a success.

This blog was for people like me, who are trying to be the best version of themselves that they can possibly be.

Leave a Reply

