Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.

This weekend I was fortunate enough to be able to work with the absolute most incredible people on an original production called “Scenes and Songs”. I think I has explained it in a previous post, but the director got together a group of people and allowed them to choose scenes and songs from plays and musicals to perform as one show. We did everything from Pippin to Steel Magnolias to Spring Awakening.

What impressed me the most was the level of talent every person in the cast has. There was not one person who was even mediocre, everyone put their heart and soul into their performances and just rocked out.

I was lucky enough to be able to be the soloist in the scene from “Godspell” and sing the song Bless the Lord. Last week, I was sick, so I was extremely nervous about these performances because I don’t think I am up to my full potential. But every night I got a bit better and by closing night, I even surprised myself with the level that I was able to perform at. I was really proud of myself for this one.

The director of the show was unbelievably inspiring, and aside from that, is just a generally amazing person. As soon as I met him, I know he would be able to pull something out of me that I haven’t seen in a long time, and he has. The same goes for the director of my Bless the Lord scene. They both put so much faith in me and my abilities, even though I was not feeling well the week before. If they were worried, I would have never known. If they had panicked about it, I probably wouldn’t have been able to pull it off, but their reassurance was able to keep me going and perform to the best of my ability. I want to thank them for the opportunity that they gave me.

I want to say thank you to my boyfriend for dealing with me being missing in action during my show weeks. There is a specific amount of focus that I need to maintain during shows and the fact that you understand and respect that is incredible and I love you. Thank you for being the first one to encourage me and believe in me, and actually convince me that I deserve to do the things that make me happy. No matter who told me before, you’re the first one who has successfully convinced me. I’m the best version of myself that I can be now that I have this as an outlet again and I cannot thank you enough for helping me gain the confidence to do it again.

If anyone in the cast of “Scenes and Songs” is reading this, anyone involved in the theater company in general, I could not have done any of it without you. This show has uplifted me in so many way and I had an amazing time doing it. I have bonded with so many people and I love all of you. This wasn’t your average theater experience for me, and I can’t explain why, but the friends I have made from this are friends I plan on having a long time. Even people I may have known a long time an may not have been close with, I feel like I know you all on a new level, and It’s an amazing thing. You are all incredible and I cannot wait to work with you all again.

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

