Weight Watcher Wednesday

I had a whole plan for my weight watcher Wednesday post, but I found out a little bit of information tonight that really kind of broke my heart. It made me feel hurt, sad, betrayed, all of the above.

I will not be very specific, but I worked on a show and after the show was over, someone involved made a comment referencing my weight and how it would keep me from getting any parts in shows. 

………………

Normally this is not the kind of thing I would publicly post on here, but this is not acceptable. Treating someone this way, with that much disrespect is just NOT acceptable. I am the first one to say I understand completely that theater is competitive, and you have to look a certain way. But I’m not auditioning for Broadway, this is family community theater that I do because I enjoy doing it, and I enjoy all the people involved. 

When doing community theater, like I love to do, there is much more freedom to cast solely on talent. I am not afraid to be a little bit self-centered here when I say I am a great singer, and my acting skills have grown so much over the years. But for someone to insinuate that I would not have any opportunities anywhere else only because of my weight is just not right. I am a talented, ambitious, outgoing, smart, funny, and passionate 23 year old woman. I have a bachelor’s degree, I have a job, I am continuing my education, I do the things i love as hobbies, and I do things on a daily basis to improve myself in general. 

I am on this long and hard journey to lose weight to be healthy (but certainly not solely to do theater…) and I know what I want in my life. This is not the first time someone in theater has made comments about my weight, but enough is enough. I have the talent, I can play almost any part with the right direction, and I can be something amazing. 

Any theater company would be LUCKY to have me as a part of their cast and shame on you for thinking anything else. I have learned to love myself and hold my head up high because I have accomplished things I never thought I would. No one can take those things away from me because they are mine to own. I have the memories, both good and bad, of the things that got me here today and I wouldn’t change a thing.  My talent is something no one can take from me, and the things I heard tonight only fuel the fire I have inside of me to improve even MORE, continue losing weight, and become an even better version of the already pretty great version of myself.

I want to go on the record and say THANK YOU. Thank you to the people who have faith in me, who believe in me and my abilities, who direct me, who guide me, who go on this adventure with me, and always stick by my side no matter what.

You’re the people worth thanking, and you’re the people who deserve to know how much I appreciate you all being there. More than you will ever know.

For now, I am going to keep this in mind while I am fuming mad, because the only thing I can do is keep my head up, and continue to do what I am doing.

“To succeed in life you need two things: ignorance and confidence.” -Mark Twain

One thought on “Weight Watcher Wednesday

  1. Don’t worry, i already put a hex on them. They will either be dead or have toe blisters by next wednesday, of this I am certain.

Leave a Reply

