Couch to 5K

Sunday, I got super ambitious and decided to start the Couch to 5k program. I’m not quite sure what came over me, and I think it was a combination of wanting to try out my new treadmill set up, needing a distraction, wanting to get back in the game, all kinds of things, but I hopped on the treadmill and just did it.

I started out doing 5 minutes walking and 2 minutes jogging on an incline, then I just said forget it, downloaded the app, and started the program impulsively. The app has you start on week one doing a 5 minute warm up, then alternate between 1 minute of jogging and a minute and a half walking for 30 minutes, with a 5 minute cool down. Today I did the second day and I have to day, I really like it. I want this to be the one thing I actually stick to and finish successfully. Even if there are some days I struggle with the amount of time I need to jog, to at least try my very hardest to finish it out. It will be a good goal for me to accomplish if I am able to keep with this and finish it out. I never finish things that I start so that would be nice if I am able to do this one thing for myself.

What I did notice when I started though, was that I was able to just jump right into it. I wasn’t winded, I wasn’t tired, my abs were a bit sore Monday, but that was the extent of it. 

When I had pneumonia, I couldn’t work out, and I let it go far too long. I never got back into the swing of things and I am so ready to do it, which is what I am currently doing. I just kind of feel like I am in a good place. I have been for a while and now I am getting back into my normal work out routine, and things will only get better from here! 

I think I made the right decision when it came to getting back on track when I did because today I got a call from Jenny Craig asking if I wanted to go back and “shed some of that holiday weight”, and I also got a text from my trainer saying we should start up sessions again. I think these are all signs from the universe saying that this is the time for me. This is MY time. I have a personal goal to try to be at my first goal weight by summer. This is the time to do it. 

I have my days where I get very frustrated with this, but other days I just have to sit back and remember how far I have already come in this journey. I’m ready. Who’s with me?

2 thoughts on “Couch to 5K

  1. Way to go! I once sprained my ankle that kept me from doing my workout routine so I know how easy it is to get into the new routine of having no routine so I commend you for getting back in the game. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

