WW Weekday- Favorite Quick and On-The-Go Meals

I’m not really big on the whole frozen dinner thing, so when it comes to quick meals, I do anything to avoid eating them for dinner. I don’t buy many of them, so when it comes to quick meals for me that are also weight watcher friendly, I always have a few ideas in my back pocket that I can make when I know I am crunched for time. If I REALLY don’t have time, I have some go-to food items I always know the points of so if I get desperate enough to have to pick up food, I at least know how many points they are.

When I do buy frozen food, I usually only buy steamable vegetables and I also like the Lean Cuisine french bread pizzas. I LOVE the french bread pizzas so much. It is a good replacement for ordering regular pizza out. It is portion controlled so once you are done, you are done, and pair it with a nice green vegetable and you’re set to go.

Image

Another thing I like to make when I am in a rush and I need to pack a meal is just a plain old big salad. I don’t do this quite as frequently as I should, but when I do, I do salads really well. I like to fill up my salads with a lot of different vegetables, lean protein, and other things that are low in weight watcher points to make it a little more interesting for me to eat rather than just your basic salad with lettuce and chicken (boring!) This salad I think I made every day for a week straight after the first time I made it. It has chicken, goat cheese, craisins, and two different kinds of lettuce. I really love putting ham in my salad as well. My mom buys me Hatfield lean ham steaks and I portion them out so one steak will last me for about 3 salads.

ImageScreen Shot 2013-10-30 at 11.11.50 PM

I have never been much of a soup person, but this season it seems I am always cold, so I have learned to have a new appreciation for soup. My family always normally has weight watcher soup in the freezer by the gallon, either at my house or my grandmom’s, so it’s the perfect 1 point lunch food to bring with you anywhere on the go (as long as there is a microwave).  This is the kind of thing that I take with me for lunch when I don’t have time in the morning to really think about and plan food. I know that I can fill my little soup mug and I would be good to go.

Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 11.11.41 PM

Special K protein meal replacement bars aren’t so much a meal replacement for me as they are a between meal snack to hold me over until the next meal, especially if I did not eat enough at breakfast or lunch. I never ever ever leave my house without these because I’m the kind of person who does not do well when I am too hungry. I get migraines, I get cranky, and my body seems to burn up whatever I eat very fast and I get hungry quickly (even though the numbers on the scale may not show it every week 😛 ) These bars are 5 points each, so they don’t kill my daily point value either.Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 8.55.31 PM

Boca burgers are a huge help when it comes to something quick, and also on the go. Most of the time, I don’t eat it on anything, but when I do, I usually eat it on a light multigrain english muffin with a slice of cheese and lettuce. I absolutely love these to bring them for lunch to work or when I need a quick something to eat this is perfect for me.

IMG_9479

Last, I love these turkey and cheese roll ups. They’re good for before or after a workout to get in your protein, to bring for lunch when you want something filling but also low carb, and they’re super fast to put together.IMG_0757

Leave a Reply

