Working out tonight.

Crossfit was cancelled tonight due to the insane amount of snow we have, but our coach posted a workout for us to do on our own time anyway! It went as follows, 14 minute amrap:

  • air squats
  • push ups
  • burpees
  • sit ups

start with 3 reps of each movements, then go to 6, then 9….etc etc. I haven’t been feeling great so I adjusted it a little bit to what I felt more comfortable with, while still getting in a good workout. I did the air squats just as they were given, but instead of the push ups, I did basic bicep curls with 8 pounds of weight in each hand. I didn’t have the tools in my house to have any assistance doing the push ups, but I still wanted to do some arm work out, so I chose those. I felt that it was a good replacement for it. After that was the burpees. Again, last time I tried them I had some mental breakdown, so instead of doing that I broke it down into a plank. That is something I am working on for myself, and I don’t think my lungs (or my brain) could have handled the burpees.

Again, I’m proud of myself for even working out at all, I just had to adjust accordingly to what I could handle since I have some sort of chest cold.  Last, we had our sit ups.

Since I adjusted everything else, I added a medicine ball in with the sit ups, just to make them a bit more difficult for myself, and so I didn’t feel like by adjusting anything else, I was cheating myself out of a good workout.

Overall, I think the fact that I took it upon myself to get motivated and just do it was a step in the right direction. I may have altered some things but it was better than sitting on the couch not doing anything at all. I’m proud of myself. I’m hoping the gym is open tomorrow so we can make up the class, but if not, I’ll make something up similar to what I did today!

Hope everyone else had a good night, and if you’re somewhere that it is snowing please stay inside and stay safe!

4 thoughts on “Working out tonight.

  1. That’s awesome! I find that I’m so much more proud when there are obstacles in the way and I get through them. It’s great that you didn’t just look at the workout and shrug it off. You stuck to it and did it! Awesome job! Keep up the great work!

    • thanks so much 🙂 it means a lot to have support! i did the same thing again today and it felt great. the crossfit class i usually go to is only tues thurs and saturday so i made sure to get in a mini one again while i’m snowed in! it’s also nice cause i can pop in a movie and you don’t even realize you’re working out!

Leave a Reply

