Idea

After reading a post, I had an idea. I am thinking about going to get weighed in at weight watchers every week still, but not having them tell me what happens and also not looking at the weight on the scale. I would do all the same things I have been doing and eat the same but for one month, see how I do without knowing how much I weigh.

Possibly just having them tell me if I gained or lost just to keep me on track to see if I need to tweak anything, but aside from that, staying away from the numbers. I want to see if I can take the power and the stress away from the scale and make this journey solely about my health and how I feel.

I would like people’s opinion on this and if it would be a good experiment.

10 thoughts on “Idea

  1. I think it wouldn’t be a bad idea, but like aberkaaa said I think knowing that you have to face the number every once in a while is good to help you make adjustments (you could cut out a few of your extra points if you were losing weight slower than you wanted). But if that’s not important to you and it’s all about being healthy, then try it for a month! If it makes you feel better and stick to a healthy lifestyle long term the it would be a good thing. You can always change your kind

    • yes- I fixate on numbers too much so I think I’m going to have my ww leader just tell me if I lost or gained so I know if I’m on the right track. this is something I’m doing for the rest of my life and I don’t have a time limit on it. I want the focus to be on how clean I ate, improvements in my workout and the fact that my pants are falling off, not so much a number. if that makes sense? I like hearing feedback though. the scale can have scary amounts of power sometimes and I want that to go away

  2. Only you can decide if this is the best route for you, but I really think that it’s a great idea. It’s not about the number. I think that having them tell you if you’ve lost or gained is a great idea, but steer away from the numbers if that’s what you fixate on. Then, at the end of the month, or every two weeks, have them tell you your number. Also, have you tried taking weekly photos and measurements? I did that for a long time and found that it was FAR more encouraging than the scale. You might only lose 1 pound, but gain muscle mass. I used to ask my mom to photograph me at the end of each week, and then I’d take measurements of my arms, legs, waist, etc. then write it all down. It worked for me!

    • i do take measurements, maybe i will do a set of them today! i haven’t done them in a while so that is actually a great idea. i take tons of pictures as well which helps. πŸ™‚ i’m going to try not knowing how much i weigh but only if i gained or lost! i will start in two weeks since i will be in florida next saturday, just so i know i am on track while away πŸ™‚ thanks for the great ideas. so helpful!

  3. I like your little test. It’s a good way to teach yourself not to fear the scale. The scale is important only for that moment in time. It never tells the whole tale. I rely mostly on measurements (taken quarterly but in March I start doing it monthly). Also, weight isn’t a measure of health. You can be thin and not healthy. Your energy level, strength, stamina are all good indicators too. Good luck and have fun with it.

    • thanks so much! i’ll be in florida for a long weekend so i’d like to know what i lose this week, but next week i’m going to just ask for whether i lose or gain, i’m excited to try something new πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

