Low carb, High fat

I hate using the word DIET but I mean it in the sense of what I am eating, not in the way that people use it anymore.

But anyway…. I have been spending my time searching the benefits of the low carb high fat diets and why people should eat this way as opposed to other ways. When I saw my nutritionist, he told me to eat 100 calories of carbs in the morning, 100 at lunch, and then a high fat diet after that. After some thought I was interested in eating more of the fats and less of the carbs so I have been interested in the “keto” diet. Instead of completely keto, I am still keeping 100 calories of carbs in the morning for now until I get used to it. My body felt awful the last two days so I need to slowly introduce it and get used to it for a little bit. Whether it’s my breakfast or a snack mid morning, I’ll throw in some sort of carbs and push through the rest of the day. As long as I stick to my general rule of not mixing carbs and fats, and only have the carbs once a day, early in the day,  I will be okay.

I do have to say, I have been missing my crunchy carby snacks and I found a good replacement recipe yesterday. It is literally just full fat shredded cheddar cheese. I also used a cheese grater to add in monterey jack. I put parchment paper onto a cookie sheet and I scooped a tablespoon onto that. I preheat the over to 375 and kept them in for about 15 minutes, which was how long was recommended. I made mine brown and crunchy all around instead of just on the edges to make them more like cheez-its. They’re very good! I had some today after work with salsa and it was the perfect little snack without the carbs or sugar. Incredibly simple, I would highly recommend. It’s about 110 calories for 6 of them but only 2 carbs.

tumblr_nd1v66D8mA1rg0a7oo1_500

tumblr_nd201ogHJn1rg0a7oo1_500

My food in general has been pretty on point, but I have been feeling pretty crappy trying to get used to it all since there is basically no sugar. It’s apparently called the “keto flu”, and I seem to have the symptoms. (read more here http://elowcarbfoodlist.org/the-keto-flu-symptoms-and-relief/ ). I have had a headache, a stomachache, and just not feeling the best that I can but I think I am adjusting decently. I need to get more sleep and also get back into a workout schedule and I will feel as good as new.

Here as some other meals I have made to try to get my eating habits back on track as much as I possibly can while I haven’t been working out. (that is changing tomorrow!!)

tumblr_nd1npdRkLc1rg0a7oo1_500

French green beans, chicken apple sausage, and 1/3 cup of shredded cheddar cheese.

tumblr_nd3acyTD9M1rg0a7oo1_500

1 serving pepperoni, 1 oz monterey jack, mini cucumber, Ken’s ranch dressing.

I don’t plan on doing keto entirely, but just a lower carb higher fat diet in general. It will make things easier for me in the long run, in all honesty. I can go out with my friends or family and get a burger without the bun with cheese, I can get wings and bleu cheese, I can still enjoy the things I like without having to make too many sacrifices because I have to eat low fat or something. I think this will be good to do for most of the time.

I will be sure to keep everyone posted on how things go and the progress I make (if it works!)

2 thoughts on “Low carb, High fat

Leave a comment